Members of the Kean University Foundation’s Board of Directors Recognized and Honored

October 2023

Join us in both recognizing and celebrating the recent achievements of members of the Kean University Foundation’s Board of Directors.

James “Jim” G. Hynes ’63 H’09, after more than twenty years of service as a member of the Kean University Foundation’s Board of Directors, including holding the title of Chair, was recently bestowed the honor of Distinguished Lifetime Emeritus.

Jim, his wife, Carole, for whom both the Jim Hynes Baseball Stadium and the Carole Hynes Field House are named, have been champions and generous supporters of Kean University for decades. Mr. Hynes was previously inducted into the Kean University Athletics Hall of Fame, having played baseball as a Kean Cougar during his time as a student. He is also a member of the Sigma Beta Tau Fraternity and was honored as a recipient of the Kean University Distinguished Alumni Award in 2005.

The Kean University Foundation is tremendously grateful for the Hynes’ years of leadership and continued dedication to Kean.


Steve Fastook H’06, Chair of the Kean University Board of Trustees and valued member of the Kean University Foundation’s Board of Directors, for which he also served as Chair, has been named amongst those who will be feted by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences 44th Annual News & Documentary Awards.

Mr. Fastook, Senior Vice President of Operations at CNBC, will be inducted into the Gold and Silver Circle, an honor for exceptional professionals who have performed distinguished service within the television industry, setting standards for achievement, mentoring, leadership and professional accolades for 50 or 25 years, respectively. They represent the best and brightest in the industry.

Congratulations, Steve!


We are pleased to congratulate James K. Estabrook, Esquire, for being among the fifteen attorneys who have been selected from Lindabury, McCormick, Estabrook & Cooper, P.C.’s for the 2024 editions of The Best Lawyers in America and The Best Lawyers in America: Ones to Watch, both highly regarded published guides to excellence in the legal field.

Mr. Estabrook, who has been a member of the Kean University Foundation’s Board of Directors since 2008, specializes in employees benefits (ERISA) law, trusts and estates.

To read more about this honor, please click here.


Please join us in congratulating the newest member of the Kean University Foundation’s Board of Directors, Christina Carey Dunleavy ‘98, on recently being named among the Cynopsis 2023 Top Women in Media – “DEI Dynamos” Category.

Ms. Dunleavy, who joined the Foundation’s Board via unanimous vote earlier in 2023, is Vice President of Disney Creative Works and Multicultural and Inclusion Solutions.